About The Private Life of Plants

Plant life's struggle for survival is seen as never before in a story full of drama, beauty and staggering achievement.

Sir David Attenborough

The Private Life of Plants continues Sir David Attenborough's 'Life' series takes us through each aspect of a plant’s life as it travels, grows, flowers and struggles with other plants and animals, and looks at the ingenious way they adapt to even the harshest of conditions.

Watch a Clip

From the 290-foot-high California Sequoia or the rattan plants that use ferocious ants as bodyguards, to the insect and even rat-devouring pitcher plants of Borneo, the mysteries of the plant world are unravelled. The Private Life of Plants also enabled Attenborough to visit the inspirational tabletop Mount Roraima, where life is cut off from the surrounding world by sheer drops on all sides.

Using stunning time-lapse photography, Attenborough shows us plant life in action; beautiful filming highlights the biggest, brightest and the most bizarre of plants and, with the aid of computer graphics, we enter the inner workings of the bodies of plants. With an astonishing use of scale, bringing the majesty of the plants to the television screen revealed some surprising adaptations far removed from the usually dull association with plants. Prepare to be surprised and delighted as Attenborough takes you on a journey through a world you thought you knew.

The episodes featured within this series are:
1. Travelling
2. Growing
3. Flowering
4. The Social Struggle
5. Living Together
6. Surviving